Despite the protest made by the Anti-Cybercrime law netizens yesterday and the petitions forwarded to amend this bill, DOJ or Department of Justice still pushed through the said bill. Starting today, the Cybercrime Prevention Act of 2012 will be implemented.

No Temporary Restraining Order from Supreme Court vs Cybercrime Law
 Image From:

The black propaganda shared by almost all the Filipino's nationwide through social networking sites did not mend any of the judges in the Supreme Court (SC) to issue a temporary restraining order or TRO against the bill.

Seven petitions were brought down to the Supreme Court even before this bill was implemented untill today, but because of justices who are not present yesterday for their the regular weekly en banc session, SC did not take a vote on whether to give the petitioners request to issue a temporary restraining order against Republic Act 10175.

SC spokesperson, Ma. Victoria Gleoresty Guerra said in a statement, "The SC did not issue a TRO in the Cybercrime Prevention Act of 2012 petitions which are up for further study."

The seven petioners are listed below according to their order;

1. Alab ng Mamahayag (ALAM) - groups of several organizations and journalists
2. Louis Biraogo
3. JJ Disini of the University of the Philippines-College of Law - Technology Law expert
4. Senator Teofisto Guingona III - the lone senator who opposed on the said bill
5. Alex Adonis - Davao-based broadcaster
6. Rep. Raymond Patalino - Kabataan party-list
7. Bienvenido Lumbera - national artist

Since, the Justices have not yet fully trashed the petitions of the above concern people, I do hope that the Supreme Court will still read and study this bill with fairness.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post